In Group 50+ Open, GM Simen Agdestein (NOR) regained the sole lead with a win against fellow Norwegian FM Richard Bjerke. Conny Holst (SWE) who led before the round, could only draw against Peter M Gayson (ENG), and is now second ,0,5 p adrift ahead of the last round. Luc Zimmerman (NED) who currently holds 3rd place 0,5 p in front a group of 3 players from England, Norway and Rumania, who all also compete for a place on the podium.

In group 50+ Women, leading Birgitte Burchardt drew with Margarita Baluniere (DEN), thereby securing the title, since second placed WFM Olga Birkholz 0,5 points behind also drew and has a walkover in round 9. Congratulations to Birgitte! There will be a tight race for the other medals though, with no 3 WFM Sylvia Johnsen (NOR) and 4 WIM Anett Wagner-Michell (GER) on equal points meeting in the last round.

In 65+ Open, leader GM Leif Øgaard lost to top seed GM Vladislav Vorotnikov. There is now a group of 4 players in the lead with 6 points: IM Janez Barle (SLO), IM Valentin Bogdanov (UKR), FM Askell O Karason (ISL) and Vorotnikov, with Øgaard 5th half a point behind. All is set for a dramatic last round!

In 65+ Women, GM None Gaprindashvili (GEO) drew her game, and is still 0,5 p ahead of closest rivals WGM Elena Fatalibekova (RUS) and WGM Tamar Khmiadashvili (GEO). All to play for there too!

The 9th and last round is played on Sunday Aug 12th at 3 pm. The closing ceremony with the prize ceremony starts 30 minutes after the last game is finished, but not before 8 p.m.